Institutional Mandates

The Alberta post-secondary system provides learners with a comprehensive range of learning opportunities provided by a variety of institutions with varying purposes. These distinctions are recognized in legislation and reinforced by individual institutional mandates approved by the Minister.

Collectively, institutional mandates define the publicly funded post-secondary system's purpose and range of programming and activities.

Institution Name

Mandate Statement

Comprehensive Academic and Research Institutions (learn more)
Athabasca University Mandate
University of Alberta Mandate
University of Calgary Mandate
University of Lethbridge Mandate
Baccalaureate and Applied Studies Institutions (learn more)
Grant MacEwan University Mandate
Mount Royal University Mandate
Polytechnical Institutions (learn more)
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Mandate
Southern Alberta Institute of Technology Mandate
Comprehensive Community Institutions (learn more)
Bow Valley College Mandate
Grande Prairie Regional College Mandate
Keyano College Mandate
Lakeland College Mandate
Lethbridge College Mandate
Medicine Hat College Mandate
NorQuest College Mandate
Northern Lakes College Mandate
Olds College Mandate
Portage College Mandate
Red Deer College Mandate
Specialized Arts and Culture Institutions (learn more)
Alberta College of Art and Design Mandate
The Banff Centre Mandate